ISTD: Visual Research

Following on from the presentation, I went on to complete visual research, looking at different typographic approaches that have been taken previously.

I began with general visual research to get a sense of different layouts, techniques and approaches that have been done and to gain inspiration for my own project.

The visual research I completed is a bit of a mix of images I have gathered, looking at a range of things. I did this to really try and get a feel for what has already been done, what is seen as cliché and what I think has been done really well. I wanted to get a much stronger sense of how people have played with type that relate to the issue I am looking at.

Let’s start with the images I think are cliché and should be avoided… images such as the disappearing type in the word ‘Alzheimer’s’ and the letters falling off the old man’s forehead are definitely things that should be avoided. I also think that the stitched ‘Alzheimer’s’ with the ‘me’ unravelling is something to be avoided. I do think it is rather interesting in how they’ve illustrated the word, but it does touch on the cliché side. I think the image of the mirror and the image with the book and acetate to fill in the words are really clever ways of approaching type in an experimental manner. I suggested using a mirror previously, but seeing it having been achieved showcases how it can work.

On the flip side to that, I think that the use of layering works really well because it creates depth and a sinking feeling. I also like the falling type, I think the way it has been handled above is rather delicate and creates a sense of hopelessness. I do quite like the images where ripping has been used, I think it can be used to show a sense of uncovering, like you’re trying to find something out that has been hidden – which could work well for my concept. But I do worry it touches on being cliché somewhat.

I have included images of hand rendered type to see how it could work if I wanted to include an element of childhood. I think it is an interesting approach to take and one that could work well, but I also don’t want to over do it with the typeface choices. The writing over the images is also an interesting approach. I think it has a reflective quality – like you are looking back in time at old photos.

Finally, I think that the use of image within the type is an interesting approach. The image with the silhouette of a person has been executed very well, the type is difficult to read in places, and you can vaguely make out a person within it – which would work exceptionally well for my concept. It is something to think about.

I also looked at designers who have excelled in editorial design, looking at the choices in layouts used and the experimentation involved.

Matt Willey:

It is evident just from this selection of images that Matt Wiley is an extremely talented editorial designer. I really admire his work because he is able to consider layout and hierarchy with amazing execution. He really understands the audience and selects all the elements accordingly. His work are good examples of the level to aim for within hierarchy and the level of typographic detail required. I think he uses negative space effectively, scale of the type is varied, creating higher levels of hierarchy, he considers the path of eye effectively and uses colour consciously to help with both hierarchy and path of eye for the reader.

Paula Scher:

I looked at Paula Scher because I like her experimental nature with typography and her playfulness with it. She also understand what the type is saying and really understands its purpose when creating her designs. She is colourful and current with her work and has the ability to adapt to different projects – which can clearly be seen from the two examples above.

David Carson:

The same can be said for David Carson as was said for Paula Scher. He is extremely experimental with his designs and creates layouts that go beyond the norm. He uses scale particularly well and considers his composition well. I like the bold nature of the designs that can be seen above and he again considers what the text is saying and its purpose to help allow him to experiment further – within the the right context.

Armin Hofmann:

Armin Hofmann typographic work is again experimental in nature, but not to the extent of David Carson as there is much more structure to his designs. They are clean and considered in nature and clearly uses a solid grid system throughout. He again uses scale to really push his designs and considers the path of eye well for the reader. The lack of colour is interesting, it creates depth to his work and a seriousness not seen to the same extent in the other examples.

Finally, I looked at other ISTD examples and have looked specifically at two entries that appear similar to my concept.

Example 1:

This ISTD project is titled; Alzheimer’s and explores the disease in a literal sense. It breaks down what the condition is, how it affects a person and uses personal stories to convey the devastation attached with the disease.

The whole book has been kept in black and white – apart from the one spread, which is in red. This lack of colour highlights the loss of personality as a result of the disease – this is something I want to avoid because people are colourful and emotions connect with colour.

The individual has used a range of typographic styles – using scale, transparency, layering and hand rendered type to convey the message.

I feel personally, that many of the elements feel a little obvious – mostly the disappearing type. I also think that the images used are the focal point above the type – and one spread has no type, only an image – something I aim to avoid as the type creates the imagery. There are also moments to be celebrated – particularly the ‘helpless’ spread as the type really conveys what the word says. The use of the post-it notes is a nice touch as it really resonates with the audience.

Overall, I think the outcome is an interesting take on the topic. However, I feel they’ve take a very literal approach – something I am trying to avoid. I want to create an experience that will be unique to the reader.

Example 2:

This ISTD outcome explores the journey of a memory. This takes a different view from the last example, but still relates to my concept (loosely). This ISTD, like the previous looks at its subject in a literal manner – looking at the process involved in gaining memories. The individual also takes a philosophical approach and looks at how memories define who we are.

The outcome itself has been beautifully handled. It is much more text heavy – but this has been handled confidently. The subtle use of blue helps to break the pages up more. They are very structured pages – highlighting a strong grid system has been used throughout.

It is a very considered piece of design – with exceptional type setting and detailing throughout – this is the level of detail required and one I intend to ensure I fulfil.

I do question whether hierarchy could be pushed further? However, this will undoubtedly differ within my design as the underlying concept is different.

I’m glad I’ve seen this example as it has shown the high level required for this competition – and the amount of work needed.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at the Cardiff School of Art & Design studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a comment