The Yes Show!

On 26th May, I went to the private viewing of the third year’s degree show, called; The Yes Show!

I didn’t really know what to expect, but was immediately amazed at the work created. There was such a wide variety of work on display, with different areas explored.

These were some of my favourites…

1.

IMG_6705

This piece stood out to me because of the high level of detail and quality that can be instantly seen. Each element has been carefully considered and appears to have a purpose in the magazine. I also like the typographic nature of the editorial. I think that it has (like everything else) been thought of and considered carefully. It feels sophisticated and mature.

2.

IMG_6708

This was another favourite because of its typographic nature. It stands out and really does pull you in. I like how it flows down the wall and the hierarchy has been well considered. The message is concise but still tells the reader exactly what it’s about. I also like its interactive nature, whereby people could write on little stickers and stick them too the wall. And the question cards, which make you really think about elements surrounding the subject of technology and connecting. They’re both fun, and also brought you back to reality about moments that occurred in your life and things that relate to you.

3.

IMG_6706

This piece really stood out to me because of the typography and illustrations. Although it isn’t instantly clear what its about, just from looking at the shapes and illustrations, it is obviously about place. I like the use of watercolour because it gives it some texture and the different styles of typography help to break up the large amount of text. I feels like there is a narrative taking place simply through the typography.

Overall. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the degree show. It gave me a real insight into the sort of thing expected to come for when my time comes. One thing that was clear was the high level of quality within the work that we are expected to reach. It demonstrates the level of hard work and dedication that is required. Nonetheless, I am looking forward to seeing what lies ahead and the areas that we can explore within our work.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

