Changing Faces Editorial Design – Research

Below are examples of editorial designs from books to magazines and other sources.

With this design, I like the contrast between the black and the white, especially with the composition of the elements on each page. What I find particularly interesting is the cover, two of the letters cannot be seen, depending on the angle you look at it from, it plays on the viewers perspective. This completely changes what the title says, with one angle saying ‘Funfairtown’ and the other, ‘Unfunfairtown’ and with that the perspective of the context of the book. It plays on both positive and negatives connotations. I also like the centre, left image due to the alteration made to the image. By simply placing a white rectangle over a section of the image it completely changes how the image is read and forces to viewer to question what it could be. I think this design uses simple design principles effectively and understands the impact caused. Simplicity is definitely key here.

I think that this is a particularly strong design because of the experimentation of type (as can be seen in the top right image) and the use of imagery. It is titled Made of Shade by Jacob Bang and although I haven’t read the magazine, there is a clear correlation between the design of the content and the title. I think that there is a strong consideration to the negative space and the placement of type which helps to control the pace and the direction of the path of the eye. I particularly like the bottom right image of the two faces facing each other. What I like most about it is the deception behind it – they aren’t shadows of faces, but scrunched up pieces of paper with light being shone on them at an angle to create the silhouette of a face. I think it is clever to create a sense of deception within the design. Along with that I like the composition of the elements on each page, each page clearly follows a structure that allows it to develop a visual identity.

I selected this editorial design because I liked its simplicity and clean style – particularly in the top two images. The type used works coherently with the style of the images. The consideration to negative space definitely helps to control the pace, it is calm and refined. However, I particularly like the double spread in the bottom image because I like the way in which the type layers the images. Although there is some bold text shouting towards the viewer, underneath there is more to be uncovered. I think that layering definitely works effectively. I like how key words have been italicised to stand out, creating a key focus on the page, this in turn will draw in the viewers attention.

I think that this is a clever design, I like how the idea of a word search is embedded into the design – It holds the idea that what we are given a lot of information but have to dig for the important things. It is as if the bottom right image is the solution to the top right image. I think that the contrast in the negative space and the amount of elements on each page really help to control the pace of the pages and therefore has more of a narrative and context attached to it. I think that the bottom left image has been designed well to control the path of the eye, this being created with the differentiation in weights and size, this also creating a sense of hierarchy.

Although I haven’t read this book, even from first glance it is clearly relating to climate change through the choice of imagery. I like how they have used a leaf, and focused on its skeleton to depict the issue taking place. I also like how short and simple the statements are on each page, contrasting with the large numbers, that instantly pull the viewers attention. It has a very simplistic style, whereby anything unnecessary has been removed and almost feels like the page is running out of elements – like it’s reflecting the earth. I think that the style, layout and lack of colour scheme all reflect the content of the book. The lack of body text and elements also means that the overall pace is quite slow, it’s like it is asking the viewer to study the page and really absorb the information.

This magazine is a lot bolder and colourful in comparison to the other editorial designs, however, I like how they have taken an image and really played with it and manipulated it. The whole magazine feels much more experimental and playful. The placement of type pushes the boundaries of what is usually perceived as normal and tests the rules of legibility. Nonetheless, what I like about this editorial design is that each page is exciting and bold, it really knows how to grab attention and keep it throughout. As it looks into beauty, I think that the design of the pages relate well to the content, it clearly expresses the imperfections within the beauty industry.

These are not all from the same magazine or book (apart from the bottom two images), these are just a few pages I came across that caught my attention. I like the top right image because it can give the impression of deceit, with some information being given and others hidden – this is similar to some of the previous editorial designs I have explored above but uses colour rather than just black and white, which is definitely something to consider. With the top left image, I like how the words are not clear to read due to the use of layering and pushes the boundaries of legibility. I also like the bold type and the use of colour, it is definitely striking and loud. As for the bottom two images I like the ripped effect on the page and the change in weight of the type – it feels like information has been revealed and is no longer hidden.

 

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

