Ignite Cardiff

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 16.17.05

I managed to get a ticket to go and see Ignite Cardiff in the Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay. As I have never been before I didn’t know what to expect, I knew that it was an event where by numerous speakers are given 20 slides which automatically change every 15 seconds. They can talk about whatever subject they are most passionate about, but the one thing they are not allowed to do is to sell themselves, a service or a product.

It was quite a long night with it starting at 7:00pm and ending at 10:00pm. There were 12 speakers in total with subjects ranging from the letter ‘w’ to Father Ted to why we should learn Welsh and many more. I found it to be a good night and on the whole very enjoyable, with some of the talks being quite interesting and engaging and others not so much. To put it simply I think it was quite a random night. Nonetheless, I am glad I went and experienced it.

What was clear to see throughout was the passion that each individual speaker had about their chosen topic – this was very refreshing to see. They had clearly put a lot of time and effort into their presentation and what they were going to say, with some being more nervous that others. Despite it all, the atmosphere was great, the audience got behind each speaker and it was a very relaxed evening.

One of my personal favourites was a talk given by Linda Salter, titled, David’s Story who spoke about the American Death Penalty. The story she gave was really quite touching and thought provoking. It is clear that there are flaws in American judicial system, but Linda managed to really grasp my attention and think about the impact and the lives it affects.

Another of my favourites was a talk given by Mark Blayney, titled, Professor of Boney M Studies. The reason I liked this talk so much was not because I have a keen interest in Boney M but because of the way Mark delivered his talk, he was engaging and incredibly funny. He actually made me want to go and listen to Boney M. The talk was delivered with ease and confidence and managed to make it funny for the audience because he made it relatable to people. I think that this is an excellent example of good communication being used to engage people in a topic that might otherwise be uninteresting.

Overall, I had a good night. It was a good experience and it was nice to see so many turn up – especially after hearing how they have grown from an audience of 50 to a 100, 200 up to 500 and that night the total figure reached 1,184. It is clearly a community and although it was my first time, I still felt as though I was a part of that community.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

