Film and Premiere Pro Workshop

On Wednesday 15th February, I attended a workshop given by Neil Pedder. He gave us an introduction into the facilities and equipment available if we decided to work with film for a project.

There are a range of cameras available from standard hand held camcorders through to the higher quality models. There are also audio recorders available and a vast range of lighting, backdrops (including green screen) and tripods.

From this we went on to try Premiere Pro – which is part of the Adobe Creative Cloud. I have used Premiere Pro before, and if I’m being honest it wasn’t a strong area of mine. This therefore wasn’t something I was particularly looking forward to. However, Neil made the session enjoyable, and it reminded me of how to use the basics within the programme and with that I also learnt a few new techniques, from adding titles to changing the effects of the video or audio clips.

img_6311

On the whole I did enjoy the workshop and it has opened up the possibility of potentially using film within a project in the future. I also found it useful knowing what equipment is available to borrow and that a range of backdrops and lighting can be created within the studio. Although film does not appeal to me as strongly as other methods of working, I do think that it’s important to have an understanding of moving image and the impact that can be created with. It will also allow me to build on my skill set, allowing me to work through broader contexts. All in all a good workshop!

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

