Afterlife – Lee Fairbrother

Yesterday Lee Fairbrother came into the studio to give a talk on his profession and to give some advice.

Lee Fairbrother is a Creative Director at Accelerate, a design firm based in London. He was previously part of the British Olympic Association where he helped to rebrand Team GB and with that created Pride The Lion – the official Team GB mascot.

It was one of the most inspiring talks I have ever sat in on and am pleased to have had the opportunity to meet Mr Fairbrother. Much of the talk was advice relevant to us as aspiring designers. Here is what I took from the presentation and has stuck with me…

  • You need to be resilient. People will at times not like your work or tell you your shit but you have to believe your not and keep fighting through.
  • Just ask. If you want it, go and get it, the worst you’ll be told is no. And never be afraid of Creative Directors – they’re people just like you.
  • Don’t be a dick. Seriously, what’s the point?
  • Try and find a mentor. They can be there to help give advice and guidance, they’ve been through it and know what its like.
  • Learn the software. You should be confident with Adobe, so watch tutorials and try stuff out for yourself.

Although he did go through a lot of stuff from clients to the difference between Pretotype and Prototype, I think the above stuck with me more because I found it the most relevant to where I am now. It’s like he said hard work and commitment will pay off. Aside from it being inspiring, I also found it very motivating and am working out a plan of what I need to do to push me further along the field in order to progress in strides rather than steps.

I also went to speak to Lee after the talk to gain some advice about going around for work experience. He was really friendly and helpful in giving pointers of what to do, like he said just go and ask, the worst thing they’ll tell you is no. I am going to work on a portfolio as I don’t have enough work, or at least work to a high enough standard to create a portfolio.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

