Field Introduction

Today we were introduced to Field, a new module that will stretch across ten weeks. I have a brief understanding of what it entails, however, today, we were given further information. From my understanding it is a module centred around the idea of collaboration from students in different disciplines, specifically Illustration and Animation in my case. It was nice to meet some new people and I am both excited and nervous to be working with other students collaboratively on various projects.

Aside from the distribution of information, we were given a task to work in small groups to create a visual manifesto surrounding an issue that is key to us. For me it was surrounding the environment. As a group we decided to not think too much into what we were doing and to be somewhat free with its creation. We simply used imagery and letters that have a direct correlation to the environment; both good and bad.

I believe that the overall message can be seen within the piece, however when examined closely some of the elements may not be as clear. For example the eyes could arise questions, but the idea behind them was to show how we are blind to the effects of overconsumption. Despite all of this, as an exercise I enjoyed the freedom we had. I thought that it reflected our instincts on the subject matter. I do think that it could be improved through the consideration of composition, hierarchy and clearer communication of our message.

I am still unsure of what to expect of Field, however I am keeping an open mind and will embrace whatever’s to come. Today was not the introduction I expected, but I can see the connections with the visual manifesto and the First Things First manifesto we researched previously and I feel that there is more to come in regards to the Spanish Civil War.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

