Leonardo Da Vinci – Exhibition

Earlier in the week I went to the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery in Swansea to visit the Leonardo Da Vinci exhibition. To be able to see ten of his original pieces up close was simply amazing.

What I found most interesting from the whole exhibition was viewing the pieces that displayed Da Vinci’s way of working, such as the initial sketches and planning. It was the process that interested me more than any of his final pieces. It made me realise the extent he went through for him to create some of his most iconic pieces.

He always observed whatever was around and would focus on the subject of his next piece of work. An example of this is seen within the uncompleted piece; Il Cavallo Dello Sforza, a sculpture of a horse that was never completed. The process of this included numerous drawings of a horse in order to fully understand its anatomy.

Another element I particularly loved seeing was Da Vinci’s famous mirror writing. It is something I have heard about, but was fascinating to see in person. I feel it gave a real insight into Da Vinci’s mind and its complexity. His willingness to never stop learning and gather knowledge is definitely something to aspire to.

Overall, I thought it was a very inspiring exhibition that displayed an insight into Learned Da Vinci’s life. The history seemed to burst from the room and for me felt a little unreal. It is an exhibition worth seeing.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

