Typography Workshop

On 29th November I took part in a workshop that took a more traditional approach to typography. We were asked to listen to different audio clips and depict the tone of what was said typographically through playing with scale, boldness and placement of type.

Overall, I found it to be a fun activity that really made me think about the way type can portray the tone of speech. It was a little difficult to really capture the essence of what was said and how it was said, but the more I did it the more I felt I was able to pick up on the subtle hints within the voice. I also enjoyed using ink and a paintbrush as it gave the pieces an organic feel and was nice to take a step away from digital media .

I was pleased with the outcomes I created, particularly the last one as I felt I managed to capture the way the message was spoken and conveyed that on paper. I was given positive feedback regarding the piece as I was told I managed to visualise what was said and the way in which was said.

Moving on from this, I think it is definitely a good exercise to complete as it develops skills in being able to hear subtleties within speech and is also nice to work in a traditional format every now and then. In terms of the brief I think it has helped to give an insight into what can potentially be created typographically, for examples with quotes etc. It allows for another level of play and experimentation within the piece and can help convey to an audience the tone of what is said. It is something I will consider using for the project and may experiment with it.

fullsizerender-24

 

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

