Digital Screenprint

One workshop we were given explored digital screen printing. Unfortunately, I was unable to attend the workshop and therefore I used the exemplar images that Ray provided us to understand visually what style of work was created.

The images I have created are a little different from the exemplar’s given as within some of the images I have included the detail of the buildings and tried to experiment as much as I could through using different colours, shapes and filters.

On the whole, I am pleased with the outcomes of the images, however, I do feel that some have worked better than others, particularly the centre right image. I really like the combination of colour’s of the silhouette’s and the way the detail sits within them. In contrast to that I also like the bottom left image of the basic block coloured silhouettes as that is a much more of an abstracted image and forces the reader to think a little more about the  content of the piece. As well as this I do quite like the top left image due the use of simple rectangular shapes as it creates an alternative feel compared to the other images, the use of layering also helps to create a sense of depth.

On the other hand, I do feel the top right image is not particularly strong. It does give the image a different feel and is much colder due to the colour choice, but on the whole I do not feel it is a visually stimulating image. It is rather flat in my opinion because unlike the other images the lack of layers fails to give it a sense of depth.

Through reflection of my work, I do feel I need to do more experimentation with this style of work. I think that I can achieve more with this and so it is something I want to explore. I am also unsure about the functionality of the pen tool in Photoshop and therefore wish to learn to use it correctly.

I went back and re-visited this style of work, however I took a different approach through learning some of the uses of the pen tool, which I feel I have done rather effectively. I understand that it is a very useful tool to use and therefore it is something I would like more practice with. Nonetheless, I am pleased with the outcomes, particularly the first image with the use of block colours and abstracted style. I do also like the second image as it it has a stylised representation to it. I do not feel the final image works as well, but it does have a much more playful nature to it and is very experimental, which is something I need to do more of throughout my work and when given future briefs.

 

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

