Implicit and Explicit

On Friday we learnt about the meanings of implicit and explicit. Implicit is when the message is not clearly shown and therefore could represent numerous meanings, depending on how the individual interprets it – you have to think about it more. Whereas, explicit is when the messaged conveyed is clear; what you see is what you get.

I found learning and developing an understanding of the these to be quite beneficial. It definitely allows you to think more in depth about the images chosen and what is being conveyed and what style of image would work best depending on its context. It is these small attention to details that will my work stand out in my opinion.

I thought the task of photographing a peer’s portrait to convey a sense of emotion or something about them to be quite interesting. It was easy discussing our personality traits but working out how to convey them was a challenge. I felt that we did manage to complete the task successfully as the overall response was that people managed to work out the emotions portrayed rather quickly.

With the second task of deconstructing the newspaper, I thought it was a great task as I grew a deeper understanding of the overall design and layout of the newspaper and also the use their images. I felt that the majority of their images were explicit in nature in order to act as a visual aid to the articles. I did find it interesting to see how the newspaper chose to place the image in relation to the article, as we found that there was an issue with hierarchy, but what I found interesting about it was that it was a common theme amongst many of the newspapers and so it makes me question why that is, as it personally doesn’t make sense to me, although I do understand the constraint with spaceĀ leading to limitation in design.

On the whole I found the day to be very productive and I thought it was a great introduction into imagery and I find it is something key to take into consideration when creating future designs for projects. I understand the difference between the two terms and that when deciding on what would work better that I must first understand the project brief and the context in which the image will be used – this is something that I will ensure to take time to do.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

