TED Talk: David Carson

Having some time I decided to do some background research into Graphic Design and typography etc. and amongst my searches I came across a TED talk titled; ‘David Carson: Design and Discovery’.

I found it to be a rather inspirational video from someone who is recognised to be a great designer. David Carson talks largely about his work and the simple ways how text can be used to create tone and emotion.

One example that stood out to me were two images of two garage doors with the words ‘no parking’ written on them. However one was written much larger than the other and through this one simple act it was clear to see the difference in aggression and tone to the words. It was very clear which garage door you would park in front of. I felt that this was showing the power of typography in its simplest nature.

Another thing I took from the video was when David Carson spoke of intuition and when it comes to design, although it is key to know and understand the rules, a large element of it comes from intuition and trusting your gut. I really liked this because at times I do feel that I can get lost in what to do and what not to do and at times I need to remember that design is also an instinctive thing.

 

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

