Illustrator Introduction

Having some prior knowledge of illustrator was helpful in this workshop, however I enjoyed learning of the different ways to manipulate letters to create obscure designs, quite quickly. This will be very useful after receiving a project from our recent hybography lecture to design a hybrid style poster.

I felt that the knife tool was the most efficient as it allowed you to completely alter the letter without removing any part of it – unlike the rubber tool. I felt I was able to play around with the shape of the letter more and so felt it would work better for the project. Nevertheless, I did find the rubber tool to be of use and I will not forget about it. I will experiment with all the techniques shown as I do not want discount any of them until I gain more experience with the program.

It is about using the right tool for the job and I feel I should play around with them more and experiment with different letters to see what works and what doesn’t.

Experimentation is key!

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

