Hybography

I found the topic of hybography to be very interesting. Learning to create words from two typefaces to emphasise its meaning has been very beneficial to me. I feel able to alter typefaces in such a way that it can help to visualise the word in the viewers mind.

I like the challenge of selecting a word and trying to see how I can manipulate it in such a way that it can help to strengthen what is being said even from the first glance. I will definitely continue to use this technique as I do feel that more practice is needed when it comes to combining two typefaces and to create one that pushes the boundaries, yet is still legible.

I personally feel that more thought is put into the work and it suddenly becomes more meaningful, whatever its context. It is simply playing with letters and typefaces, which I have found to be a lot of fun.

Furthermore, I find that it has many applications and can be used for a variety of things i.e. book covers, posters, advertising, cards etc. Of course I do feel that to improve I should continue to practice ‘playing’ with the letters, but should also think about what I am creating.

These are really good questions to think about:

 

-What is the tone of the word(s) you are attempting to convey

typographically?

-What case is most appropriate in conveying that tone?

-Is it a mixture of both upper and lower cases?

-Can the size and scale of your letterforms help in conveying

the tone of the word?

-How can your placement of text within the given format

assist in conveying that message?

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

