Introduction to Typography

Having been given an introduction to typography I have already gained an understanding of letterforms and how they are structured and constructed. I have also began to learn the correct terminology within this area of graphic design.

This has already been a great benefit to me as I feel more able and confident to communicate with a level of professionalism through using the correct terms and being able to understand what is meant by the different phrases. I also feel that this will act as the foundations to understanding typography, enabling me begin to understand the design behind type, particularly its legibility and the context in which it is used.

I have also gained a basic understanding of the history of typography and how letterforms have developed over time. However, I do feel that I will need to research this further because the more informed I am, the stronger my designs can become as they have a solid foundation on which to build.

To add to my research are key art movements that have all helped to influence today’s designs. I think the more research I complete into the various movements, the more influences I can gain for my own work.

Nevertheless, I do feel that I have developed a strong foundation of understanding of typography, but I do need to build on this in order to develop my own knowledge.

 

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

