Cardiff in Letterform

Being able to go out into Cardiff city centre and explore the many typefaces that can be found in order to identify key letterforms was a great experience. It was through this exercise that I actually noticed the variety of typefaces that can be found.

I felt I was more able to provide an opinion on whether I felt the typeface was suitable to its context; the business/ company.

I was able to start to identify the different letterforms, however, I did get confused at times and forgot what some of the terminology meant and so I do need to go over the terms so that I confidently identify the letterforms, wherever I am. This will again help to allow me to communicate more effectively.

As well as that, being able to create the shapes of the letterforms and exhibit them in the main reception of the School of Art was a great experience and seeing all of the letters together in essence gave a snapshot of Cardiff – not in the traditional sense.

cardiff_letterform

In all honesty, it made me rethink the way we can display an image or snapshot of a place. It is about rethinking what is traditional and ‘normal’ and reinventing it. As well as always thinking about the context, sometimes I think it is a good thing to think about its creativeness and how it reaches/ reads to an audience.

Author: marislathamgraphics

I am a student at Cardiff Metropolitan University studying BA Hons Graphic Communication.

Leave a Reply

